Prelude to Freedom

First I’d like to say a few words before I share with “you” (the potential one person who reads this blog) my inert thoughts about Jonathan Franzen’s novel Freedom.

1. I know this book came out last year. It took me an entire year to read half of Swann’s Way, not to mention the fact I was #478 on the library waiting list for a hardback copy.

2. I hated songbird-murdering house cats before it was trendy.

3. Any resemblance I bear to Patty Berglund is strictly coincidental. It’s actually sort of creepy how much we have in common – so creepy that I cut off my ponytail after Franzen ridiculed Patty relentlessly for keeping hers.

More later…

Leave a Reply

